Germany

Berlin-Charlottenburg, Luisen-Friedhof III

Total Occupation: 877 fatalities

Total Occupation: 877 fatalities


Address

Fürstenbrunner Weg 67

14059 Charlottenburg, Fürstenbrunnerweg 37-67

Germany


The 12-hectare Luisen Cemetery III is the largest of the three churchyards in the Luisen parish. It was laid out in June 1892 on what was then still undeveloped, church-owned sand pit land outside the city of Charlottenburg. Fifteen acres of the northern part were ceded to the young congregation of the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church before it was consecrated. The garden design of the churchyard was created by Otto Vogeler, the garden director of Prince Leopold of Prussia in Glienicke. He laid out the churchyard in the traditional rectangular pattern using native trees. The churchyard chapel, a neo-Gothic red brick building inaugurated on October 30, 1892, was built by the architects Vollmer and Jassoy. The fully sculpted head of Christ above the entrance door comes from the March pottery factory. in 1992, the exterior and interior of the chapel were restored according to the historical model. The churchyard administration building was built in 1893/94 by Paul Bratring in the same style. The impression of Luisenkirchhof III is characterized by the hereditary burials located along the west wall and around the chapel. The family tombs, which were established for a period of 60 years, were mostly created by renowned architects and artists for the Charlottenburg "nouveaux riches", the factory owners and scholars from the Kurfürstendamm area. Source: Churchyard administration of the evangelical Luisen parish